visa documents needed

What is a Schengen Visa?

The Schengen Uniform Visas (VSU) are issued for a stay of up to a total of 90 days per semester during their period of validity, and can be used to stay in the national territory of the Schengen Area Member States.

They are issued for the following purposes:

  • Airport Transit (type A);
  • short-term or travel stays (type C) for up to 90 days, with one or multiple entrances.

In case of prominent personalities or to well-known people, who need regular Visas and who may demonstrate the necessary guarantees, the Schengen legislation exceptionally allows the issuing of type C Visas which allow to stay up to 90 days for each semester, but they are valid for one (C1), two (C2), three (C3) or five years (C5).

The authorities of the Member States at the borders could still ask for supporting documents to the foreign nationals who show a Schengen Visa issued by another country. These may be invitation letters, hotel reservations and flight tickets, or documents demonstrating sufficient financial means to pay travel expenses.

The calculation of the days of stay in the Schengen Area takes place backwards from the last day of stay in the Member States. This calculation is essential to understand if is possible to apply for a new Visa in the six months of reference from the date of the Visa validity.

Who does need the Schengen Visa?

This is addressed to foreign nationals willing to enter in Italy, for any tranvel reasons who:

  • are not included in the free movement principle of the Schengen States for stays up to 90 days in 6 months for tourism and business, according to particular international conventions;
  • do not have a valid residence permit in one of the Schengen States.

Here below the list of Countries for which a Schengen Visa to enter in Italy is mandatory:

Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Saudi Arabia, Armenia, Palestinian Authority, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Byelorussia, Bolivia, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central Africa, Chad, China, Comoros, Congo, Congo (Democratic Republic), North Korea, Ivory Coast, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Philippines, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Jamaica, Djibouti, Jordan, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Laos, Lesotho, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Morocco, Mauritania, Myanmar, Mongolia, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Papua-New Guinea, Qatar, Rwanda, Russia, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Syria, Somalia, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uganda, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

The citizens of the following countries are not obliged to have a Schengen Visa for up to 90 days stays, for the purposes of tourism, mission, business, invitation, sport competition and study:

Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Colombia, South Korea, Costa Rica, Croatia, Dominica, El Salvador, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM), United Arab Emirates, Georgia, Japan, Grenada, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Solomon Islands, Israel, Kiribati, Malaysia, Macao, Northern Marianne, Marshall, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Monaco, Montenegro, Nicaragua, New Zealand, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Samoa, Saint Lucia, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, United States, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Taiwan, East Timor, Tonga, Trinidad, Tobago, Tuvalu, Ukraine , Uruguay, Vanatu, Venezuela.

For citizens of Taiwan, the Visa exemption applies only to holders of passports including the identity card number.

For citizens of Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, the ex- Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro and Serbia, the Visa exemption applies only to holders of biometric passports.

Serbian citizens holding a passport issued by the Serbian Coordination Directorate are excluded from the Visa exemption.

The citizens of San Marino, Vatican and Switzerland are excluded from the Visa requirement in any case.

Which Countries can a foreign citizen visit with the Schengen Visa?

With the Schengen Visa you can stay in the following 26 European countries that issue it:

Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Czech Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Slovakia, Hungary.

Where must it be applied?

The application for the Visa must be presented in the country of residence of the applicant, at the competent Consulate of the Schengen country that will be visited. If the applicant wants to visit several European countries in the same trip he must apply for a Visa at the Consulates of the country which will be the main destination of the trip.

Which documents does the applicant need to apply?

The applicant must present his application for the Schengen Visa in person. If necessary, he can be interview in order for him to explain the purpose of your application. The documents to be submitted depends on the purpose of your application (tourism, business, etc.) Finally, each Italian Consulate may request additional documents, according its discretional power.