Since 2 February 2020, the new Code on short-term visas for entries into the EU has entered into force. In fact, citizens of around 100 countries in the world are still required to apply for a Schengen Visa to spend short periods (maximum 90 days fevery semester) in the Schengen area for reasons tourism, family and business.

The followings are the main news introduced by the new Code:

– Travelers can submit applications from 6 months (previously it was 3) to 15 days before the trip. Whenever possible, applications will be submitted via the Internet and, in most cases, directly in the country of residence, also by contacting external providers where there are no diplomatic representations of the EU country;

– The cost of short-term entry visas has risen to 80 euro (previously it was 60 euro), and the additional resources should improve the efficiency of Consulates. Reductions are possible for children under 18, while children under 6, students and researchers will continue to be exempted from payment;

– Travellers who have not overrun the days allowed in the Schengen area by previously obtained short-term visas will be granted multiple-entry visas with increasing validity, from one up to five years;

– The procedures for the examination of visa applications will be more restrictive or more generous on issues such as maximum examination time, validity of the visa, costs and exemptions from payment, also based on the cooperation of the traveller’s country of origin with the EU with regard to repatriation and readmission of irregular migrants.